Skip to content

Quarterlife Queer

A never ending story

I recently received a message on facebook about my highschool “informal” 5 year reunion. I can’t believe I have been out of high school that long. It seems like just yesterday I was sitting in the senior cafeteria eating nachos and listening to my friends have freestyle battles. I guess it doesn’t really seem that long ago because I am still in constant contact with all my friends online. Between Facebook and Myspace I can watch my friends lives unfold through wall posts and photo albums.  Just these past two days I have seen pictures from a wedding, updated pics of friends children (including my nephew), and a whole bunch of albums of this summers shenanigans.  Its addictive, convenient, and kinda creepy. There are plenty of people I haven’t seen in 5 years or talked to in the last three that have access to my profiles, that know what city I am in, where I go to school, and what I do for fun based on my photos. I think I need to purge some folks from my friends list.lol

I won’t be going to the “informal” 5 year reunion, its not that I don’t want to see people in person, I just don’t want to go to the club they decided to use. Maybe if it was at a bar instead of a club I would be game. I will just have to enjoy the mini in person reunions I have anytime I go to the loop or if I ever catch one of my classmates shows.

