Skip to content

Quarterlife Queer

A never ending story

I was checking in on the National Black Justice Coalition’s web site this morning and came across a series they are doing on Black History LGBT Profiles. I love the series because most BHM neglects to acknowledge the presents of the LGBT community in our history (even though PLENTY of our beloved literary figures are/were LGBT and Bayard Rustin, a great force in the 1960’s Civil Rights Movement, was openly Gay).  This particular profile caught my eye because it is of a woman that I know, and who I believe is a wonderful person. I met Mandy Carter in 2004(or maybe the fall of 03..my memory is not all that good) at the Southerners On New Ground (SONG) conference in Little Rock. It was a very intimate grassroots workshop that found us brainstorming, cooking, and screening films. It was the first time that I was introduced to a group of people that were full time activists, It was one of the pivotal moments that brought me to where I am now (along with the 2004 March for Womens Lives and the Annual HBCU conference at HRC)

Anyway..since I think Mandy is a Kick Ass Person that has been a force since the ’60’s… Here is the Link to the Article so you can see for yourself. And make sure you check out the others in the series and bookmark them so you can check back regularly.  ( I am actually a supporter of both the NBJC and HRC which could be considered a sin if you ask some NBJC members.lol)

Tags:

