Skip to content

Quarterlife Queer

A never ending story

Today is the first day of BHM. I have always had mixed feelings about having this special month. It always kind of irked  me that somehow we managed to get the shortest month of the year, that it was so close to MLK day, and that educators clump all the Black History into this one month and then say screw us the rest of the school year. It also bothered me that they teach kids about the same 4 or 5 individuals: MLK, Harriet T., George Washington Carver, Booker T, and Rosa Parks. Now there are a few other people that make the list when it comes time for our beloved youth to write that Febuary research paper or speech, but its usually just the same old people. I don’t think I even heard about people like Stokely Carmicheal, Bayard Rustin, W.E.B. DuBois, Assata Shakur, or Fannie Lou Hammer in school. Lucky for me I read on my own time. But unlucky for kids that get all their learning in during school hours.

In Undergrad, at an HBCU, I realized that a lot of people only got their education during school hours and were learning about many great figures for the first time. My last semester I had two Africana Studies classes and a Sociology class on the works of W.E.B.. I have to say that watching myself and others grow in our understanding was a beautiful thing…and was my best semester ever because of it.

I haven’t decided how I will use this blog to celebrate this month… but I am sure it will have to do with the people that get the least amount of credit and the books/places we can use to get educated beyond what we were taught. I always think that if I were to teach I would get fired for teaching about these type of people instead of the “safe” leaders. We will see how it goes…Stay Tuned.

Tags:

